PDA

View Full Version : Pensacola to Kissimmee

kalavera
05-23-2011, 12:24 PM
Planning a ride from Pensacola to Kissimmee on June 02 returning on June 05, 2011. I've been marching in Disney's Star Wars Weekend's parades since 2007 and this will be the first time taking the bike. Usually I drive but with gas prices...

Anyways, I have never ridden that long. The longest I have ever ridden is the two hours to Biloxi. So, what I am asking for peeps that have ridden I-10 and I-75 to Orlando have any tips for me.

Am kinda nervous, never ridden that long by especially by myself.

FANG
05-23-2011, 12:54 PM
Rode from P'cola to Lake City and back in a day -- take frequent breaks and hydrate - it is going to be hot and you will need the fluid - I used a Camelbak - put ice in the bladder and added some water - did great plus as the ice melted it was cooling on the back.

kalavera
05-23-2011, 01:05 PM
I don't have a throttle lock/friction lock/cruise control.

Am thinking I should get one before the trip.

docdoru
05-23-2011, 01:21 PM
Remember?
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm136/docdoru/DSC00456.jpg

BikerDoc
05-23-2011, 02:04 PM
I don't have a throttle lock/friction lock/cruise control.

Am thinking I should get one before the trip.

I live 20 miles from Kissimmee and made the reverse round trip you are taking last year.. I10 and I75 are easy highways to ride so long as you are comfortable riding at least 73 - 75 mph - otherwise you may get virtually mowed down.. I urge the cruise control.. of course the RTS has electronic cruise control. , but the cruise control really makes the ride much much easier for long distance open highways...

I rode back from Lake city Just Sat and it was 100 degrees there when I started so no question you will need water and occasional shade stops also

johnnyg
05-23-2011, 06:27 PM