PDA

View Full Version : FLAGS

NJERNIE
03-04-2011, 04:08 PM
Today while getting gas the attendant told me I was flying the American flag on the wrong side. While standing behind the bike, the flag is on the right and the POW flag on the left. The attendant claims that it should be the opposite and that he takes it personally. I've been riding for 50 years and never knew there was a proper position for the flag. Have rode in many poker runs, military runs, etc. and was never questioned about the position of my flags. So my question is does anyone know if there is a standard placing of the flag on the back of a motorcycle. :hun:
:dontknow:

NancysToy
03-04-2011, 04:22 PM
The flag should be displayed on it's own right (your left), when displayed with another flag. http://www.ushistory.org/betsy/more/displayonly.htm

dancogan
03-04-2011, 04:23 PM
"That the flag, when carried in a procession with another flag, or flags, should be either on the marching right; that is, the flag's own right, or, if there is a line of other flags, in front of the center of that line."

It would seem on a motorcycle it would be on the right hand side from the driver's position.

Peacemaker7
03-04-2011, 04:23 PM
According to the American Legions web page, the flag, when carried in a procession with another flag or flags, should be either on the marching right; that is, the flag's own right. As the viewer is looking at the flags from the rear of the bike, at the flag's own right, the flag is on the right.

freebob
03-04-2011, 04:46 PM
:chat:
"That the flag, when carried in a procession with another flag, or flags, should be either on the marching right; that is, the flag's own right, or, if there is a line of other flags, in front of the center of that line."

It would seem on a motorcycle it would be on the right hand side from the driver's position.

:agree:

arntufun
03-04-2011, 05:11 PM