PDA

View Full Version : Spyder Group Riding protocol?

OldDog
01-03-2011, 07:58 PM
I have ridden a number of times in motorcycle group rides in a standard staggered formation with riders of different skill levels. I've had a few close calls based on these varying skill levels. That being said, what is the proper riding protocol for Spyder group rides? i will assume it is single file given the Spyders wider stance in the lane. Comments from the experienced Spyder riders? I'm a newbie to Spyder riding.

Thanks,
Old Dog :opps:

aka1004
01-03-2011, 08:06 PM
I have organized few spyder rydes and a single file is a must only to double up to cross a stop sign but in most cases, when people see that many spyders coming down, they stop and waive you by most of times:2thumbs:

retread
01-03-2011, 08:12 PM
A lot of times it helps to stagger even the Spyders, as long as you can maintain spacing. By this I mean favoring alternate sides of the same lane.

john

aka1004
01-03-2011, 08:17 PM
Yes. Single file, staggered.
Enough to break lights of spyder that's ahead of the spyder in front of you are visible.

NancysToy
01-03-2011, 08:56 PM
:agree: Single file, staggered for maximum visibility ahead...as road conditions permit. If riding in a mixed group, Spyders and other three wheelers should ride at the back of the group or subgraoup...although in some instances they may lead. If a three-wheeler does become mixed into a group of bikes, he or she should maintain the appropriate interval to the closest vehicle ahead...not the one staggered at his/her side of the lane. Signals and spacing, as well as other ride rules and conventions, should be gone over by the road captain before the ride begins. JMHO

bone crusher
01-03-2011, 09:13 PM