PDA

View Full Version : Mobil 1 racing 4T oil in the Spyder!!!!

StriperKing
12-12-2010, 12:11 AM
Just wanted to worn everyone that uses or is thinking of useing Mobil 1 racing 4T motorcycle oil for wet clutch aplications. We are not supposed to use an API SM rated oil in our Spyders for our clutch system. Mobil 1 racing 4T moturcycle oil has just switched to this API SM rating. If you look on the shelves you may find the old version or the new version but you will not know unless you look at the API specks on the back. The bottles look identical. I bought 4-quarts at Auto-Zone and had two of each. I went back and all was API SM. They said they were the newest and I got the last of the older ones. I do not want to get into all the info about API codes but all you have to do is put in Amsoil, Rotella, Mobil 1, etc. in the search and you can read all you need to.

If some may wonder why not the API SM, it can cause some clutch slippage in the Spyder. I am not an expert but some say not to use it in any wet clutch application and this makes me wonder why Mobil 1 racing 4T has went this direction. I guess this could be a misprint on the bottles at my Auto-Zone but I would not think so, anything is possible. :dontknow:

Raptor
12-12-2010, 01:43 AM
This is good to know. Thanks for the info. I was seriously thinking of going that way. But then I did some research and read all the great reviews about Amsoil, so I linked up with Ken and went with the Amsoil, and I'm glad I did. This is AMAZING stuff. Both bikes just love it!

Thanks again for the 411. :thumbup:

SpyderWolf
12-12-2010, 10:19 AM
Thanks for the heads up. I currently have Mobil1 Racing 4T in our Spyders, but of course no longer have those bottles. I will have to check the bottles next time I am at the auto parts store and see what they say on them. I am not looking forward to finding out they have switched things up like that.

Sarge707
12-12-2010, 01:23 PM