PDA

View Full Version : New RT-S UK Owner soon

eddieshep999
11-10-2010, 05:17 AM
I take delivery of my Spyder RT-S in December
I have moved from Motorcycles Last one being BMW K100LT - 1991 MODEL engine size 998cc - Owned since 1997 Sold last week
I have been disabled due to Poilo aged 22 months old - Left me unable to use my left leg
I have been riding Motorcycles since 1976 - First Honda's then on to BMW's
Now in my mid 50's the BMW was getting to heavy to hold up and I did not tend to use it much in the winter months - being only able to put just my right leg down it was becomming a confidence issue - I accident could be 1 accident to many

My first motorcycles were adapted for me to use a hand change with a metal rod connected to the Left hand side Gear leaver - I woud use my left hand to operate the clutch leaver and use my right hand to push/pull the leaver to change gear
In all the years the only accident i had - was a slow speed spill when my right leg sliipped on diesiel at a M/way junction
About 5 yrs ago I fitted a Klicktronic push button Electronic Gear change systerm which was easy and gave me greater control

Having decided to look around I was thinking of getting the K100LT converted to a Trike or buy a motorcycle - Goldwing/Harley Davidson already converted into a Trike
I contacted several Trike builders and was quoted from £7,000 up to £14,000 for the conversion this did include the fitting of a reverse gear

I brought a copy of TRIKE magazine Summer copy and in it was an item on the CAN-AM Spyder RS - i was not sure this was for me due to the y layout and the sports type seating - So i just carried out looking at so called normal Trikes

Just over a month ago a friend of mine told me she had test ridden a Can-Am Spyder RT the Semi -Automatic one and the more i heard about it and the controls ect the more I became interested in it
I looked it up on the WWW and came across the Spyder Riders Uk website