PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Consumption

Silverwing
08-06-2010, 04:11 PM
I am new to owning a Spyder, just three week since purchase. Just completed 800 mile and it has had its first service. It is the RTS. What sort of fuel consumption should I expect to get? At the moment it seems low at only 37 miles to the gallon.

MouthPiece
08-06-2010, 04:16 PM
Low? You either should check your math or pray that it continues to get what it's getting.

Chris PE# 0004

BajaRon
08-06-2010, 04:17 PM
37mpg is high. I agree with the previous post. You're either very fortunate or you're going to get lower numbers as you average your fuel stops.

musicarcade
08-06-2010, 05:08 PM
I am new to owning a Spyder, just three week since purchase. Just completed 800 mile and it has had its first service. It is the RTS. What sort of fuel consumption should I expect to get? At the moment it seems low at only 37 miles to the gallon.
:roflblack::roflblack:
I wish. That's what I thought I'd get on my:spyder:.
I average 27.4 mpg, but I don't have an RT....

SpyderAnn01
08-06-2010, 05:09 PM
I rode 100 with the wind at my back and got 30 mpg, on the return I only got 27. My mpg did improve after the 3000 mile service but 30 mpg is the best I've gotten so far

canam9
08-06-2010, 06:05 PM
welcome :ani29:

BajaRon
08-06-2010, 06:09 PM
welcome :ani29:

I average around 35 highway miles. Less around town.

MouthPiece
08-06-2010, 06:25 PM
Well in thinking about it, here in Flarda we have ethanol (mandatory) in our gas. That is the biggest joke I've ever seen. When ethanol was made mandatory back in July, 09, my gas mileage decreased by at least 4 mpg. in my Infnity.

Not only does the ethanol decrease mileage, but it also leaves a distinct odor on your clothing when you ride. I never ever noticed a "smell" in earlier years of my riding. That is not the case now.

Perhaps you are running straight gas?

boborgera
08-06-2010, 08:38 PM
I'll get 35/38 on my Stock 08 GS,but that's on two Lane's at 55/60 mph'.