PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Capacity

ThreeWheels
06-13-2010, 04:39 PM
I know it's just starting to really get warm, but I'm an engineer, so I'm always thinking about the future.

Is there a list of electrical power consumers and the capacity of the magneto ?

I want to install a powerlet for a heated vest. I just don't know if there is enough excess electrical capacity. I'm OK if I need to make trade-offs, like--don't use the heated grips and fog lights if you have the heated vest hooked up. I just need to know what these trade-offs might be.

I was hoping for a matrix of electrical loads.

Anybody ?

ThreeWheels
06-15-2010, 06:00 PM
Bump.......

Anybody ???

dancogan
06-15-2010, 06:10 PM
I'd be interested in the answer, too. Maybe there's an engineer around with an ammeter? :dontknow:

Gordy
06-15-2010, 06:17 PM
just got back from a trip to colorado and it was cold on the way back.i used the fog lites,heated grips and my heated vest for about 200 to 250 miles with no problems

Longlegs
06-15-2010, 06:26 PM
650 watts capacity

boborgera
06-15-2010, 06:49 PM
If your runing every thing at the same time, keep the RPMs above 3500 / 4000. If your at a long light or in slow traffic turn some off.

Lamonster
06-15-2010, 07:56 PM
If your runing every thing at the same time, keep the RPMs above 3500 / 4000. If your at a long light or in slow traffic turn some off.
That's good advice. :agree:
I would take into account if you're driving on the highway or in the twisties too. The DPS has a pretty heavy draw to it and the more you turn the more it's going to draw on that battery. If you're running all those things and running the twisties chances are the output of the magneto won't be able to keep up with the demand.

ThreeWheels
06-15-2010, 08:39 PM
That's good advice. :agree: