PDA

View Full Version : Lowered spyder

tweeder
05-24-2010, 10:08 PM
Is there any way to lower the rear of the spyder? I like the looks of Crucifieds, or is it the solid colour that makes his look lower? I know that he has air ride.
I don't want to spend that kinda money. I was thinking of a shorter shock and hopefully I don't bottom out on the tire.

RoadHammer
05-25-2010, 11:48 AM
a softer spring rate or shorter shock will lower it a bit. but i doubt you can slam it like an air ride and still have it rideable without some adjustability factor that an air ride can provide.

BillGargan
05-25-2010, 12:14 PM
I recommend that you consider the risks . . .

Whenever you change the geometry of a vehicle you are changing how it responds to the dynamics of motion -- including how the steering responds and how it responds to dynamic road changes, i.e. bumps and the like.

I am not an engineer. You may be. But, I doubt you have the skills, knowledge and evaluative tools to make this type of change safely.

You have lots of other ways to fuss with the Spyder -- like changing the shocks, shock rates, spring adjustments, etc. Those appear to me to be safe changes! Stick to something safe in an inherently unsafe situation.

Caveat emptor . . .

bone crusher
05-25-2010, 01:08 PM
Is there any way to lower the rear of the spyder? I like the looks of Crucifieds, or is it the solid colour that makes his look lower? I know that he has air ride.
I don't want to spend that kinda money. I was thinking of a shorter shock and hopefully I don't bottom out on the tire.

Why risk safety of any kind for a certain look?

SSG Bean
05-25-2010, 03:26 PM
I think you could use the air ride system to achieve the look you are after while the spyder is parked, and pump it back up to a suitable ride height while moving. You would certainly need a guage to get it to the same ride condition everytime, but it is doable. PM crucified and search his threads to find the details.