PDA

View Full Version : What do YOU do with tailgaters & other 'alternative' driving styles . . .

VaughnCat
05-08-2010, 11:40 AM
Okay, I've been driving for over 40 years (did i just admit that?). Sold all my motorcycles about 30 years ago and thought I was done. But after riding 2-up with Vaughn on the 1500 Suzuki last year, two months ago we test drove and bought our first Spyder RT-SE5, and I got bit! Two weeks ago we came home with the RS and I'm back on the road again . . . :2excited: loving every minute of it. . . . except for those occasional tailgaters. :yikes:

Commuting last Monday while driving my car, I had a very upsetting encounter with a tailgater, and yesterday Vaughn had a similar experience. I makes me wonder . . . . so my question is:

What do YOU do with tailgaters? How do you handle those people who don't know that a tap of the brakes means "Back Off"?

We put on a lot of miles every week on 2 lane roads with narrow shoulders and very few places to pass safely.

I'd really like to hear your thoughts.

Cat

NancysToy
05-08-2010, 12:17 PM
I don't know that there is a solution, until you can get to a place to pull over and get out of the way. My solution.....I just get nervous!

DragonSpyder
05-08-2010, 12:17 PM
If there is nobody in front on me I will speed up to stay away. Otherwise, I slow down to a rediculous speed until they get the idea.

dave01
05-08-2010, 12:22 PM
Although its not correct, I carry marbles. Not the large jumbo ones, just the smaller size. They make a lot of noise when they bounce off the grill of a car. These are a last resort thing though and I have only used them a few times in 20+ years.

SpyderWolf
05-08-2010, 12:41 PM
Although its not correct, I carry marbles. Not the large jumbo ones, just the smaller size. They make a lot of noise when they bounce off the grill of a car. These are a last resort thing though and I have only used them a few times in 20+ years.