PDA

View Full Version : eXperience

wndrshwn
12-28-2009, 05:05 PM
i have no motorcycle riding experience and no traditional manual shifting experience. i have a car with dsg transmission, semi-automatic or full auto shifting, like a tiptronic.
would the learning curve be too steep, would an msf course help at all?

Sarge707
12-28-2009, 05:36 PM
i have no motorcycle riding experience and no traditional manual shifting experience. i have a car with dsg transmission, semi-automatic or full auto shifting, like a tiptronic.
would the learning curve be too steep, would an msf course help at all?

Any Careful, Respectful, Situationally Aware, Defensive Type Driver would do very well with a Spyder!!!
A MSF would be a excellent idea BUT is not absolutely needed based on your Life Long Driving History??
( Your Honor, "I take the 5th!"):shemademe_smilie:

GaryTheBadger
12-28-2009, 05:49 PM
I consider the MSF course manditory and a small price to pay to potentially save your life.

As for shifting, you didn't state your preference, but the semi-auto option for the Spyder eliminates your need for hand and foot coordination, so it would be easier to ride, especially for a beginner like yourself.

adohring
12-28-2009, 06:33 PM
There has been a good bit of talk about the importance of an MSF class and while I certainly think it's a good idea as it covers alot about just being more aware while operating the vehicle, I just don't see it being crucial like it is for operating a 2 wheel motorcycle. BRP intentionally refers to the Spyder as a Roadster and not a motorcycle. It handles and rides nothing like a motorcycle does in my opinion. It's a unique riding experience but is far more similar to a snow mobile or 4 wheeler if you ask me. Much of the motorcycle specific stuff in an MSF course would not apply to the Spyder.

Again, I think everyone would benefit from an MSF course but I certainly don't think it is critical to safely ride a Spyder.

Just my 2 cents...

retread