PDA

View Full Version : Anyone tried other spark plugs?

sledge
09-05-2022, 08:46 PM
As I have said before, I am an old retired Mechanic... did it all my working life, no telling how many motor cycles I have owned. Way back in the 70's I bought my first 2 new motor cycles, and I have always been and still am my Own Mechanic. I never take anything in to have it worked on... but many years ago I learned that I didn't like NGK spark plugs... So, have any of you folks put anything like Champion spark plugs in your Spyder?? Or any other plugs for that matter???

IdahoMtnSpyder
09-05-2022, 09:10 PM
many years ago I learned that I didn't like NGK spark plugs
What is it you don't like about NGK plugs? I ask because NGK is what Baja Ron sells and he is pretty fussy about what he sells. Also, I don't recall seeing any posts here on the forum citing issues with the NGK plugs. So what do you know about them the rest of us don't?

DGoebel
09-05-2022, 09:13 PM
IdahoMtnSpyder beat me to it, when I replaced my plugs on my '13 RTL, (Since I was replacing plug wires that were cracked) I bought the whole set of plugs and wires from Baja Ron and they were NGK's. Worked great!

bigbadbrucie
09-05-2022, 09:18 PM
On ALL my bikes, I’ve always used OEM plugs, except once.... and the replacement did NOT work. Sorry, no help here.

PMK
09-05-2022, 09:19 PM
Denso plugs in the Spyder, and the Tacoma.
Prefer Denso over NGK, but still have a few NGKs to use up in the moto trials bikes.

cravenfun
09-06-2022, 09:50 AM
Factory plugs only in my many toys for no issues. Which is NGK in Rotax motors. NGK iridium's in my HD is they only deviation on factory plugs as OEM are just copper plugs.
Champs, only in my mowers or snowblowers, nothing else.

larryd
09-06-2022, 10:02 AM
Bajaron had done some Spark Plug Testing on the 1330 RT's several years ago trying to come up with a better plug...He had several beta testers...

Hopefully Ron will see this post and follow up on his findings...