PDA

View Full Version : Will the 1330 engine adjust based on gas octane changes?

Fjrwillie
06-11-2022, 04:19 PM
Wondering if the 1330 engine adjusts based on the octane you use like cars do. Think car engines will retard or advance based on the Octane it senses. Something like that. I am not an expert on this, just what I have heard. I don't think motorcycles do in general. Could be wrong on this as well.

Willie

ARtraveler
06-11-2022, 05:10 PM
I made the change to 87 octane over five years ago. I have noticed no difference in performance or mpg.

I live in AR where ethonal is part of the picture. Been using 87/10% since July of 2019.

I think the EFI system compensates for whatever octane you are using at the time and makes the engine run like it should. You should be ok to go with whatever grade you put in the tank.

Stay away from 15% ethanol. The manual says it will damage your Spyder.

CloverHillCrawler
06-11-2022, 05:44 PM
I made the switch after Premium Prices went over $6.00/gal here in Md.

No Issues yet but I am looking for a station that has the no ethanol gas so as to minimize chances from ethanol damage.

cravenfun
06-11-2022, 07:03 PM
In season I run E10 in my toys. When end of season comes around, I start running E0 to avoid issues. Sleds and the F3 will run on 87 just fine but my HD specs 91 minimum.
I can get 90 E0, HD has not complained yet so fall fill ups of E0 are my SOP. Cooler temps reduce octane sensitivity also. My small engines only get E0 as well as the boat.
NO E15 unless it means having to walk then only enough of that to get some E10 or E0

JayBros
06-11-2022, 07:16 PM
The ECM does the thinking based on the octane one uses.

BLUEKNIGHT911
06-11-2022, 07:36 PM
The ECM does the thinking based on the octane one uses.