PDA

View Full Version : I work with CAN bus systems at work....

dmiles
05-04-2022, 09:34 AM
I work on CT scanners for a living, and have done so for many years. That can bus interface they sell for $350 is likely just a Raspberry Pi or something similar. I should have everything I need to at least be able to connect to the bus, and log activity. Definitely going to give it a shot. I have several CAN bus interfaces, but no Spyder yet. It's coming Saturday.

From what I read online, 2017 was the first year for CAN bus 2, correct?

mcalva
05-04-2022, 12:43 PM
I can't help you but this thread promises be interesting. Thank you

sonsofanarchy
05-05-2022, 01:24 AM
I work on CT scanners for a living, and have done so for many years. That can bus interface they sell for $350 is likely just a Raspberry Pi or something similar. I should have everything I need to at least be able to connect to the bus, and log activity. Definitely going to give it a shot. I have several CAN bus interfaces, but no Spyder yet. It's coming Saturday.

Hi, very happy to read your post.
Yes, 2017 was the first year for CAN bus 2

Navydad
05-05-2022, 12:38 PM
This could be fun. I will follow this as well since I have experience with vehicle Canbus systems. Just like ABS systems Canbus isn't really that complicated. It isn't voodoo or magic, but finding a problem often involves patience and some decent test equipment.

Isopedella
05-05-2022, 01:25 PM
Very interested as I have a 2017.

Ps I had no idea what a Raspberry Pi was so Googled it up.
So for any other Luddites like me this may help.
https://opensource.com/resources/raspberry-pi

dmiles
05-06-2022, 04:22 PM
This could be fun. I will follow this as well since I have experience with vehicle Canbus systems. Just like ABS systems Canbus isn't really that complicated. It isn't voodoo or magic, but finding a problem often involves patience and some decent test equipment.