PDA

View Full Version : where do you jack the Spyder Up ?

sledge
03-29-2022, 12:58 PM
I have been a Mechanic all my life , and jacked up everything from a VW Bug to an 80,000 lb. gross Kenworth & Trailer ... But... nothing like my Spyder . I planned to put new tires on mine today , but ... I have already ran into a couple of problems...LOL... first , it has a Trailer Hitch on it , and the bold heads , ( Star Drivers ) so close to the rear brake disk that I have MADE a tool just to get that off... but.. I have been under this , and no good place do I see to Jack this up . BUT I sure are getting the Idea Why a Spyder Shop Charges so much to do just a Simple Job.... because , I have not seen a Simple Job on here yet....LOL..LOL ... anyone have any idea's on this ??

K80Shooter
03-29-2022, 02:27 PM
The frame runs down the center of the bike. Use a floor jack placed toward the front or rear of it as needed and jack it up.

Bensonoid
03-29-2022, 02:36 PM
If you look at my photo albums I've got a few pictures of where I jack mine.

sledge
03-29-2022, 02:36 PM
Thanks , I was laying on the ground , and saw the Shock Mount , and the Exhaust was in front of that , but , I will hunt the Frame... thank you again .

fatboy
03-29-2022, 02:43 PM
no need to remove star head bolts just remove the long bolt going thru the center of axle then pull hitch straight back off swing arm

canamjhb
03-29-2022, 02:51 PM
And..... Your trailer hitch comes off with just ONE bolt that runs through the rear axle. No need for any "special" tool. Just take the cotter pin out, take the nut off, slide the bolt out of the axle, & pull the hitch assembly off from the rear. You may have to wiggle it back and forth a little while pulling it off. It takes all of about 2 minutes to remove your hitch..... Jim

BLUEKNIGHT911
03-29-2022, 02:52 PM
Thanks , I was laying on the ground , and saw the Shock Mount , and the Exhaust was in front of that , but , I will hunt the Frame... thank you again .