PDA

View Full Version : Spyder for a newbie rider?

MidLife
09-25-2009, 01:52 PM
After many years of saying I was going to learn to ride, I’m finally going to do it. I’m still young enough for my bones to heal properly. :D

Although I don’t need an M1 license to drive a Spyder in CA, I’m going to take the MSF course, as my knowledge of motorcycles comes pretty much from watching "American Chopper."

The question I have for all if you is whether a Spyder would be good for a "newbie." I know BRP sort of markets it to everyone, but that’s marketing. What’s the reality.

Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks...

NewRider
09-25-2009, 02:00 PM
Is "Oh, Heck, Yes!";) I started riding this year, at age 67. Having no previous motorcycle riding experience, I found my SE5 (with the semi-automatic transmission) very easy to learn on. There were no habits I had to unlearn, as folks with conventional bikes must deal with. I hasten to add...relearning from 2-wheels to a trike isn't that difficult, but needs some careful thought and riding practice.

Come join us; the ridin' is fine!:ohyea:

Saluda
09-25-2009, 02:10 PM
Absolutely, give them a look. Think positive and don't worry about the bones. Drive safe and smart, watch the other guy. I feel you are much better off on a Spyder than a 2 wheel bike. Braking power alone is worth it.

SE5spyder
09-25-2009, 02:52 PM
I have never ridden a motorcycle before and never even considered riding one until I saw the Spyder. I bought the SE5 without even test driving one (didn't have a MC license). As mentioned it was easy to ride because of no motorcycle riding habits and because it was the SE5 model. You'll have a BLAST with it.:clap:

Tom in NM
09-25-2009, 03:38 PM
. . . . and test one. Several times, if you can. ( and do both the SM5 and the SE5 - Manual & Electronic )