PDA

View Full Version : Do you wear boots when riding?

vito1943
07-20-2021, 11:51 AM
This may seem like a silly question, but do you wear boots, i.e., motorcycle boots, when riding a Spyder? For my 35 years of motorcycle riding I always wore boots. In part it was for ankle protection if I went down, and in part it was to handle the wear of the shift lever on my left side. Riding a Spyder now, whether right or wrong I have less concern about going down, and there is no shift lever for my foot. I still wear jeans, not shorts, so that I have something between the road and my skin in case of a crash, as well as a helmet and gloves. But I find that I don't feel the need as much for boots, or for an armored jacket for that matter. I never was an ATGATT guy, even when I was an MSF Instructor in the 1990's, but boots were always a "must have" item for a ride. But now not so much.

BajaRon
07-20-2021, 11:55 AM
After 33 years responding to accidents (it really didn't take nearly that long to convince me) I wear boots. My feet could not be called pretty, but I still like them!

rjinaz86323
07-20-2021, 11:59 AM
I always wear over the ankle boots

troop
07-20-2021, 12:06 PM
50/50

ARtraveler
07-20-2021, 12:06 PM
Always a part of my gear. Over the ankle types. Engineer, Wellingtons, SIDI or Ariat ankle high. Depends on my mood of the day. Both my Engineer and Wellingtons are over 20 years old. The Engineers were re-soled about 12 years ago.

RykerRider1959
07-20-2021, 12:12 PM
I have been wearing this brand/style for close to 20 years...Both street and trail riding...I prefer the brushed leather look...And the PRICE...lol...
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Brahma-Men-s-Bravo-II-6-Steel-Toe-Work-Boots/55172844?selected=true

bigbadbrucie
07-20-2021, 12:14 PM
My arthritis makes wearing boots and being able to “hit the brake” difficult, so I wear oxford shoes. For me, that “feels” like the safer option!

BryanSD
07-20-2021, 12:19 PM