PDA

View Full Version : Went over the Spyder with a fine-tooth comb....

ataDude
09-14-2009, 07:24 PM
... while I was doing maintenance on my early model 2008 SM... #1704.

A disclaimer: I am not a trained engineer or mechanic and everything below are just my personal opinions and observations but... I did stay at a Holiday Inn last night.

Like some folks here, I found a number of things I didn't like... thus all of the new plastic wiring looms protecting fuel, radiator and vacuum lines at the top. I understand that the 2009s forward may already have some of this protection.

Two things I really didn't like:

1. High-voltage / Fuel Line. The front cylinder's high-voltage spark plug wire (#2 in pic) was crossed and resting on the primary, high-pressure fuel line (#1 in pic) from the fuel tank (though the fuel filter). I re-routed the plug wire to behind the fuel line and added two more layers of wiring loom for protection (the pic is "after").

This, in all probability, is not a huge issue as the high-voltage wire insulation would need to (a) fail and (b) fire to a ground. A "perfect storm" issue might arise if (i) the wire's insulation failed and (ii) moisture was present which could present a ground.

2. Emissions Canister Vent Hose. As some of you have already noticed, the emissions canister vent hose is a short, U-shaped hose that could emit excess downward directly onto the rear cylinder's exhaust header pipe. The open end of the vent is about 2" forward, and 8" higher, than the exhaust with nothing in between.

I believe that the purpose of the vent hose is to allow atmospheric pressure into the canister so that the "purge valve" can suck (using engine vacuum) any excess fumes from the canister into the fuel injection throttle bodies.

However, this vent appears to be the only portion of the fuel system open to the outside world.

In my opinion, a couple of things might cause a problem with the vent location: