PDA

View Full Version : Closest Call Yet!!!

hut1
06-22-2021, 12:30 AM
I've been riding 2 and 3-wheelers for more than 40 years. During that time I've experienced a few "close encounters", but nothing compares to what I experienced this past Saturday morning. It was 10am, overcast with an occasinal sprinkle or two and I was traveling on my :spyder2: on a very familiar two lane road frequented by beach traffic. As I rounded a slight curve, there were a few cars/trucks heading in my direction in the appropriate lane and in a no passing zone. As we got closer, the second vehicle approaching me suddenly pulled out to pass the lead car. After making the pass, the pickup did not even make it fully back into his own lane by the time we met. I pulled hard to the right and was able to maintain control as I hit the shoulder and then made it back into my lane. We were close enough that had I not made the evasive move, he would have at least clipped my left wheel, if not hit me head on! I was traveling at 60mph and I'm sure he was going even faster. There was no glaring sunshine or other obstructions, and my F3s is lit up with all LED's (headlights, foglights, Lamonster Bright Ryder and Double Vision Daytime Running Lights).

I'd like to think that my 15+ years of experience on 3 wheels (sidecar and Spyder) helped me avoid the collision and maintain control, but I know there was more to it than that. I feel very Blessed to be able to share this.

Be careful out there.

pidjones
06-22-2021, 06:43 AM
The lights were on, but nobody was home.