PDA

View Full Version : Newbie ramblings....

rocinante54
01-29-2021, 04:52 PM
I’ve been riding motorcycles as a re-entry rider since 2007. My last conventional motorcycle was a Suzuki C50, which I loved, but had some difficulty riding due to problems in my legs and hips. I switched over to a Honda Silverwing maxi-scoot. I didn’t have to shift it, as everything on the bike is done with the hands. The handling was OK, but I actually preferred the handling of the C50.

Last September, we moved halfway across the country. I sold the SWing before we left, because I had decided that when we got to our new place, I was going to switch over to a trike. I’m 66 and want to prolong my riding years, which I was not sure I’d be able to do much longer on two wheels. After we got here, I started doing some shopping. I looked at the CanAm Spyder RT, F3 and Ryker and the Harley Freewheeler. I wanted to stay with factory trikes to avoid any problems with dealership servicing.

I ended up with a 2020 Spyder RT base, which I got a pretty good deal on. I had it delivered to the house, plugged it into the charger and promptly forgot about it, as the weather was miserable. I knew there would be a steep learning curve. I had done my homework and I knew that it would be a bit of weirdness converting to a trike after riding two-wheel machines which leaned and counter-steered. I also knew that there were no trike classes near me, so I’d have to sort of figure it out on my own.