PDA

View Full Version : Buying 2020 RT Limited Dark - An intro, and ask for advice?

Paulie
05-29-2020, 01:45 PM
Hello,

Looking to finally make the jump from two, to three wheels and working on getting a 2020 RT Limited Dark edition. I have had my three wheel license endorsement for a few years, and finally going to retire my motorcycle this summer. I've been riding an adventure bike for a few years, but finding it more and more difficult to balance the bike and my joints just aren't up to the task anymore (elbows and knees of an older guy I guess). While I've had the three day Can Am class, I haven't had any other seat time on a Spyder F3 or RT. Sorry if these are lame questions...

Long Trips vs Commuting

On my bike I hated commuting in a major metro region (so many cagers not seeing me etc, traffic, no lane splitting allowed) but loved long road trips and scenic drives (especially through Shenandoah National Park). My guess is that I will have more visibility, and commuting is easier (automatic and larger footprint) and it will be less fun in the twisties...any feelings there? I've done a few searches, and have a few nuggets, but wanted to ask directly re: commuting.

I hope this makes sense...

RT Limited vs RT

I will only have a passenger once or twice a season, but I was thinking of getting the limited and adding the RT Rear Panel when I don't need the extra storage or have a passenger. Seems its better to get the storage / speaker at time of sale and using it when needing it, vs not getting it and wishing I had it. Anyone doing that? Any thoughts?

Price
So, I have been working on a deal for a 2020, and have some price and overall questions. I think Can Am usually runs deeper discounts in the fall, so I am super worried about buying a Spyder RT and loosing 5K or more of value in basically three months. More to the point, if genuinely don't enjoy the Spyder it's going to really hurt so I am trying to get the best deal I can...