PDA

View Full Version : New Member

Sampi1099
05-04-2020, 02:57 PM
Hello everyone i'm new to the Can am spyder scene and i'm looking for some advice on which one to purchase. I just got my license thru Team Arizona. There is two that I am looking at one is a 2010 RT and the other is a 2013 RS-S SM5. Please advice me since this is a lot of money to spend for a retired person on a fixed income.

Thank you
Jim181154

CopperSpyder
05-04-2020, 03:32 PM
Welcome to the forum Sampi1099. It depends what your looking for. Do you ride two up? Will you want to ride long distance from time to time? Always helps to do a little research on the different models that are available. There is one for sale in the for sale by owner area of this forum that I think is a steal if you are looking for an RT with the SM6 transmission. So you would have to give a little detail of what you are looking for; there are big difference between the two models you mention.

Sampi1099
05-04-2020, 05:34 PM
No I don't ride 2 up and yes long distance riding is about 50 percent of the time. Since I,m new to this I have no one to ride with. Thank you I will check on one you said.

safecracker
05-04-2020, 05:59 PM
The Rt is better if you plan on touring, especially if you are taller. RSS has more of a sporter ride. The 2010's and 2011's did have a few growing pains. Throttle body is big one and DPS on the 2010. I have a 2011 RTS, SM5. It has been a great ryde so far. Also the RT'S have an air bag that controls the rear suspension. Depending on the model it could be controlled manually or automatically. On the 2010 RT, has a larger windshield than later model years. Bruce

BLUEKNIGHT911
05-04-2020, 06:01 PM