PDA

View Full Version : Trying to figure out the color so I can get touchup paint

FAAQ2
04-08-2020, 06:44 PM
I have a 2013 Spyder ST SM5 and it is Silver Grey in color. I need to touchup some dings on the hood - But I can't seem to get the right color.

I ordered the magnesium but it was too dark - I don't know if it is Silver Platinum Satin or Full moon Silver - I am new to this Spyder - But I would like to
touch up the dings on the frunk ! - it just seems harder to figure out the paint color then it should be..

OK - now what ? :yikes:

merlot
04-09-2020, 02:31 AM
now what?

take a small panel to a good paint shop and have them "flash" it
they will tell yyou what colour it is(in real terms,not BRP terms)

i have an F3 colour is "intyense red".....the flash shows "ford candy red" so i was able to go to Supercheap and get a spray can for this exact colour
im sure many other colours from BRP would be taken from "everyday" car colours

russ

JayBros
04-09-2020, 05:56 AM
Go to a body shop and give them the BRP number, B-366, and PPG number, 937658, and the shop should be able to show you the color. Take a side panel to compare.

johnv50
04-09-2020, 07:25 AM
According to Colorite your color is "Pure Magnesium Metallic".

tntnj
04-09-2020, 07:29 AM
Touch up paints with metallic , normally does not quite match when using a brush for touch up. There is a person here who is a body paint man who verify this. In my younger years I used to do body and paint on cars. Take to a body shop have them match the paint and have them spray it.

FAAQ2
04-09-2020, 08:16 PM
Yes I know but when I use that color it always comes out darker then the rest if the paint.

Copperman
04-09-2020, 08:40 PM