PDA

View Full Version : Couldn't feel my fingers!!!

BumbleBee
07-13-2009, 06:51 AM
No laughing!!!
Never rode a bike before, and I bought my spyder 4 weeks ago. I am a very cautious female driver, and a mother of two. I am taking it very slowly!!! My husband rides his own bike behind me every time I go out and do longer rides. My"first" longest rides were on Saturday and Sunday. Saturday about 20 miles. Sunday 35 miles and drove up to 63 mph, felt good. What a adrenaline rush I had. I wear finger gloves. My fingers and thumb were so numb, I couldn't feel the buttons on my turn signal, how scarry is that? My legs were like jello when I got off my bike. My husband said, that was normal, and with time that it will get better. A few hours later (after my rush calmed), I was drained so bad, it felt like I haven't slept in days. Can't wait to do this again!! Real soon, I will try short Interstate riding. :spyder:

rleathen
07-13-2009, 07:13 AM
You need to learn to relax your grip a bit...ok maybe a lot. A more relaxed grip will allow the blood to circulate through the hands much easier. As well you may want to adjust you seating position to change the angle that your wrists are at while holding the handle bars. There are other things you can do as well like handlebar risers and gel/foam grips.

BumbleBee
07-13-2009, 07:23 AM
:agree: I got 4" riser on order, should be in any day now. I am hoping that will help, since I have short arms and really have to lean forward. You mentioned "gel/foam grips", Do you have those? How good do they work? Where can I get them? Thanks

ataDude
07-13-2009, 07:46 AM
I like these grips:

Clicky - http://www.spyderlovers.com/forums/showpost.php?p=45212&postcount=53

vt228
07-13-2009, 07:51 AM
fill the grips with BBS it helps keep the vibration down and you well love the ride rizers well help and :congrats: on your new toy and welcome` to the family we all aske questions and read what others do to fix problems we get .