PDA

View Full Version : 10w40 redline oil

P.W.
05-19-2019, 08:50 AM
I run redline oil products in all my cars.....and would like to use in our new 2019 RTL But since I'm new to motorcycles would this oil be safe for the engine & tranny combo in the Spyder?
This is there "motorcycle" oil that is "Blended with specific friction modifiers that are compatible with wet-clutches, suitable for JASO MA applications"

https://www.redlineoil.com/10w40-motorcycle-oil

Thanks,
P.W.

P.W.
05-19-2019, 09:00 AM
Or, am I to use this "car" engine oil that states "Recommended for API SN/SM/SL/CF and ACEA A3/B3/B4"

https://www.redlineoil.com/5w40-motor-oil

JayBros
05-19-2019, 09:02 AM
Do NOT use car engine oils. Look in your operator's guide and use the motorcycle oil that meets the API service specification(s) called for in the guide.

Chupaca
05-19-2019, 09:03 AM
If it matches the specs in your manual your good to go. Don't know them off hand but someone will. That seems expensive per quart and there are many good oils out there. :thumbup:

P.W.
05-19-2019, 09:15 AM
That's just it..... the"motorcycle" oil says nothing about API service classification sj,sl,sm, or sn ....just that it's "Blended with specific friction modifiers that are compatible with wet-clutches, suitable for JASO MA applications"

On the other hand..... the "Car" engine oil does have the API service classification sj,sl,sm, or sn.....but says nothing about "wet clutches".

Confused!!

P.W.

Ex-Rocket
05-19-2019, 09:33 AM
BajaRon a sponsor here has the Amsoil that is perfect for your Spyder.

Mikey
05-19-2019, 09:51 AM
If your oil don't say safe for wet clutches I would not try it!! There are a lot of good oils out there for this app. I am not going any further with that, but I am shore some one will:popcorn::clap:

BLUEKNIGHT911
05-19-2019, 10:59 AM
BajaRon a sponsor here has the Amsoil that is perfect for your Spyder.