PDA

View Full Version : My Final Retirement

ARtraveler
03-27-2019, 01:31 PM
After eighteen years working with the University of Alaska as an adjunct Accounting Professor, I finally said good bye to them on Monday of this week. My final class will be on Tuesday, April 30.

In this case, the handwriting was on the wall. The University is in dire financial straits. The governor of AK has killed about 35% of the University's funding which is setting them into a tailspin.

The November 30, 7.0 earthquake, pretty much took care of the rest. Eagle River, Chugiak received a lot of damage. The building we were using suffered severe damage, and the University decided not to renew the lease which is up in June 2019.

All of the adjuncts on this campus are now out of work as of Fall Semester (AUG) 2019. The layoffs of main staff due to the budget cuts now leave a pool of mainline profs, now out of work. Guess who is going to get the open positions? :roflblack:

I did not want to be kissed off like most are going to be. A wonderful finish for 18 years of service to the community and to the university. These days...it's all about the money.

They can find someone else to take the summer session that I was scheduled to teach. My comment to the University....BYE! :roflblack::roflblack:

I feel good about my decision. I can now get on with the final chapter of my life. :popcorn::popcorn:

DGoebel
03-27-2019, 01:34 PM
Congrats, thou it's possible some time in the future you'll find some other enterprise to keep you busy...

ARtraveler
03-27-2019, 01:37 PM
Congrats, thou it's possible some time in the future you'll find some other enterprise to keep you busy...

Going to try to enjoy the rest and get in more riding. Time will tell.

SL Ken
03-27-2019, 02:05 PM
Congratulations. Are you still going to try to get to Arkansas?

Deanna777
03-27-2019, 02:06 PM