PDA

View Full Version : Time for New Shocks

JCWeatherman
07-10-2018, 09:00 PM
Hi All,
I have been riding my 2013 STL for about 4 years now. I have put 13,500 miles on it. I'm close to getting new tires, but I'm thinking I will get the shocks replaced also. Here are my questions:

Should I do it?
If so, what should I get? I see Elka Stage 2 and Fox mentioned. What is giving you the greatest success. I ride solo 80% of the time and the rest of the time is group riding with my bride on the back.
Where do you get them? Dealer? Online?

BTW, I have already changed the sway bar and links for Baja Ron models. The sway bar made a big difference. The reason I am considering new shocks is it seems a little mushy in tight curves, and in Pennsylvania we have a lot of tight curves!

Chupaca
07-10-2018, 09:07 PM
That is not a lot of miles and I would imagine your shocks are fine. If you are not having problems with the handling. If adjustable you could change the adjustment and note the difference. My rear shock has 40,000 miles (6 years) and works fine even double up. I did change a lot on the front end due to the ryding I do and put on the Fox Podium shock and happy with them...:thumbup:.

UtahPete
07-10-2018, 09:15 PM
That is not a lot of miles and I would imagine your shocks are fine. If you are not having problems with the handling. If adjustable you could change the adjustment and note the difference. My rear shock has 40,000 miles (6 years) and works fine even double up. I did change a lot on the front end due to the ryding I do and put on the Fox Podium shock and happy with them...:thumbup:.
:agree: Maybe you're looking for a way to justify the decision you have already made in your head?

DGoebel
07-10-2018, 11:17 PM