PDA

View Full Version : Radiator Plug

Rob Rodriguez
04-19-2018, 02:45 PM
Doing a coolant flush and change on my V-Twin RS. The drain plug on the radiator seemed overly tight when I loosened it to drain the coolant. Reinstalled finger tight and then 1/4 turn with a ratchet. Filled with coolant and had a small leak. Torqued plug to spec with torque wrench. Still had small leak. Decided to remove plug and change the rubber o-ring. When loosening the plug the small leak instantly became a large leak. The area where the drain plug threads mounts into the body of the radiator cracked.

As far as I know they coolant hasn't ever been changed and the drain plug was factory applied.

Ordered a new radiator and prayed it was not on back order. Good news is its not :)

Makes me wonder if this is a common issue with the Spyder? Anybody here of this before?

I'm not an ace mechanic, I'm a pretty good parts changer and I've done maintenance type work on many an automotive type vehicle and have never seen an issue like this.

pegasus1300
04-19-2018, 02:56 PM
this is a not uncommon problem that I was alerted to by my dealer. If you can remove your currant radiator,take it down to a radiator shop and have the plug soldered in. The taps are just a press fit and when you try to unscrew the plug it disturbs the press fit and leaks.Worst case it comes out. Have the radiator shop solder in the tap and you'll not have any more problems.

Rob Rodriguez
04-19-2018, 03:11 PM
That makes me feel better. I was pretty sure I hadn't done anything incorrectly. Too late to solder the old one since the new one is already shipped. Wonder if I should have the new one soldered before I install it for piece of mind?

Big Arm
04-19-2018, 03:19 PM
Almost since day one, this is been a problem. The way to drain the radiator, is to remove the bottom hose.
Never try to loosen the drain plug.

Chupaca
04-19-2018, 03:19 PM