PDA

View Full Version : My 2011 Can Am Spyder Brake Question

locomotion40
03-07-2018, 05:15 PM
I bought my Spyder 5 speed manual used about 10 months ago. From day one the brake pedal always felt like it had too much travel. Local dealer said they needed to be bled. Had it done but did not notice much of a change so learned to live with it. Two weeks ago had oil changed and at checkout mechanic mentions that brakes felt spongy and needed to be bled. I told him they were done a few months ago (verified by their computer records) his reply was OH! OK!
Now I am wondering if this is normal? Is there a way to adjust the travel? Any input would be appreciated.
This is my first time using a forum so bear with me please.

quasi
03-07-2018, 06:24 PM
I'll prob get flamed for this, but it may be the master cylinder is leaking internally. bad o rings/seals?

Chupaca
03-07-2018, 06:33 PM
You mention they were that way from the time you got it. Not knowing the travel hard to say but if they bled the brakes with no change and the next tech says they need to be bled but agrees if it was done they must be ok...I'd find another shop and have it checked out. :dontknow: may need to be fully flushed .

locomotion40
03-08-2018, 10:53 AM
You mention they were that way from the time you got it. Not knowing the travel hard to say but if they bled the brakes with no change and the next tech says they need to be bled but agrees if it was done they must be ok...I'd find another shop and have it checked out. :dontknow: may need to be fully flushed .
I just measured break travel 2 1/2 inches at the front tip. Does anyone know if this is normal?

Bob Denman
03-08-2018, 10:58 AM
The first generation bikes always seemed to feel as if the brakes were a bit "spongy". :banghead:
Try giving them a quick second pump, and see if that makes them feel any better.
(There's no doubt: The Brembos were a much-needed update! :bowdown:)

Snowbelt Spyder
03-08-2018, 11:59 AM