PDA

View Full Version : What is this?

al0vely
03-06-2018, 07:10 AM
I recently purchased a 2014 RTS and it has a gizmo in the center of the handle bars. I plan to remove it if I can't find a good use for it.

Does anyone know what this is? The original owner is deceased and his wife doesn't know much about anything.

Tomline
03-06-2018, 07:25 AM
I'm fairly new to the Spyder World but I believe it is used to hold a GPS or another type of navigation device or even a cell phone. As I recall they're quite costly as is $100 or more.Once you find out what the brand namee is, it might be worth while to sell here on this site.

PW2013STL
03-06-2018, 08:06 AM
It is a mount for a GPS. This is where the factory mounts the GPS that comes with the limited.

KosherKid
03-06-2018, 08:06 AM
As stated, it is a mount for an accessory of your choosing. It is similar to a RAMmount. Before you remove it, you might need shorter bolts. I think that thing has spacers and the bolts might be too long without them.

Dave

al0vely
03-06-2018, 08:14 AM
OK thanks for the reply - after doing a google search I found the brand name of Techmount. I need to find some type of adapter for maybe a cell phone to make this thing useful. It seems like the Techmount accessories are expensive - and I prefer the Ram Mount stuff.

Anyone here using this type of mount for a phone? If so what type of phone mount do you use?

2dogs
03-06-2018, 08:52 AM
I have the TechGripper, and believe me whatever you put in it, you're not going to lose. I didn't care too much for it at first because it takes two hands to operate the thing. After I became used to it I'm glad I made the purchase. On amazon the techgripper is $35 but look around you may find one for less. You won't be sorry.

missouriboy
03-06-2018, 09:19 AM
I'd say keep it and mount your fishing pole there when you're trolling for Interstate Alligators. :clap:

Chupaca
03-06-2018, 10:37 AM