PDA

View Full Version : One more thread about towing

gnorthern
12-16-2017, 09:47 PM
One things that has been made clear to me about towing with a Spyder is to allow extra room for braking. Two more questions (I really do not want to regret spending $1500 to $6000 on a trailer).

1. Is the extra room for braking needed for overall stopping distance or because of potential jack knifing? Admittedly I have not taken measurements, but I have been rising ABS motorcycles since 2008 and I swear the Spyder seems to stop faster. I would think it should still have a lot of braking power even with an extra load.
2. Is there either such a thing as after market brakes for small trailers or a small trailer with brakes? One person suggested getting brakes on the trailer. I have looked at least a dozen trailers and did not see a brake option.

After spending many summers sleeping in a small tent on wildland fires, last year I bought a large tent and cot for general outdoor travel. I found I love the extra room and comfort, and having a chair and table inside when it is raining. While I hope to buy a Lees-ure Lite, I am 100% certain I will be getting a trailer someday to carry the extra stuff.

Thanks for the answers.

BLUEKNIGHT911
12-16-2017, 11:47 PM
One things that has been made clear to me about towing with a Spyder is to allow extra room for braking. Two more questions (I really do not want to regret spending $1500 to $6000 on a trailer).

1. Is the extra room for braking needed for overall stopping distance or because of potential jack knifing? Admittedly I have not taken measurements, but I have been rising ABS motorcycles since 2008 and I swear the Spyder seems to stop faster. I would think it should still have a lot of braking power even with an extra load.