PDA

View Full Version : spyder dependability

BLACK WIDOW
05-14-2009, 07:59 PM
Since I am new to the spyder world and have less than 700 miles on my 09 yellow, I was wondering what kind of problems I may encounter. I know that a lot of you owners have put many miles on and probably have a pretty good idea of their dependability and problem areas. Your knowledge and experience and opinions would be appreciated. I have owned and rode motorcycles most of my life but the spyder concept and BRP is off my radar scope.:dontknow:

ataDude
05-14-2009, 08:01 PM
I have a hard time keeping tread on the rear tires. That's it.

bjt
05-14-2009, 08:29 PM
I have sometimes gotten caught up in the worry of a Spyder breakdown after reading some of these posts but my Spyder has never failed me. The only issues (exhaust seal failure and brake fluid a little low) I've had never had me in limp mode or left me stranded. I'm close to 14,000 miles now.

Zerocool
05-14-2009, 08:36 PM
Just under 4000 miles, no issues. I keep it maintained on schedule and she stays happy.

Firefly
05-14-2009, 10:51 PM
Since I am new to the spyder world and have less than 700 miles on my 09 yellow, I was wondering what kind of problems I may encounter. I know that a lot of you owners have put many miles on and probably have a pretty good idea of their dependability and problem areas. Your knowledge and experience and opinions would be appreciated. I have owned and rode motorcycles most of my life but the spyder concept and BRP is off my radar scope.:dontknow:

Known problems that *some* have had:

Brake noise - various 'soultions'.
Power steering going out - various solutions
Parking brake sticking - BRP has a fix
SE5 shifting problems - various problems and fixes
Oil in Airbox - various solutions
Loose relays - some fixes

Most have NOT had problems. Ride it, have fun - and if a problem pops up - get it fixed by either your dealer or by asking people out here!