PDA

View Full Version : Finally bought me the Spyder.

Ramg66
04-11-2017, 08:35 PM
Hello everyone, I am new here. I just purchased a 2016 Spyder RT-S SE6. I have been riding quads (ATV's) for over 20 years and when the Spyder came out I was in love, I have been telling my wife for a decade I wanted one. I finally talked my wife into looking at one and OMG she fell in love with a blue one, we mounted it but couldn't test drive because I had no motorcycle permit. 2 days later I'm taking the test, I pass and we go back and it was sold, my wife was not happy, but they told us they had a red one in the crate still, same price. She would not let it get away, I'm nervous like crazy and she just keeps telling me she wants it (I couldn't believe it), I test drove a used one and bought the red one in the crate that day.

I love it!! Its been a couple weeks and I have 500 miles on it already. There's a few things I'm getting used to, like the wind at 70 mph. The throttle, I'm used to the thumb throttle on a quad, every once in a while I am parking or just slowing down and I give it gas without thinking about it, good thing I have the brake on. I am getting better at curving, they say its like quads but its a little different (especially the speeds), I have read a lot, the manual and the do's and don'ts and many posts. I'm still a little confused on the RPM's and shifting. After doing a lot of research I have learned to take it easy the first 10 minutes, I was shifting between 3600-4000RPM but have noticed the smoothest is around 3300-3400 RPM. Is this OK? I do have another question, I will be driving at 60 MPH a lot and I want to know if in cruise control you would be in 5th gear at 3500 RPM or 6th gear at 3100 RPM? Thanks in advance, and any advice is appreciated.

SteveLaoyster
04-11-2017, 08:49 PM
:welcome: & :congrats: Shifting is a matter of preference & also conditions. You'll get used to it. Just take it easy as you learn & as the bike gets broke in. Happy Ryding!