PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Hitch

acpd22
12-10-2016, 08:36 PM
Why are these things so expensive. I just don't see paying all that money for these. I'm not an engineer by no means but I think I could make one of these for a $100 dollar bill. That would include powder coating. Are these made of some super secret G-13 classified metal that only come from a parallel universe?

Desert Spyder
12-10-2016, 08:44 PM
If you mean the BRP hitch I know what you mean. The costs of metal is probably $25. Bending and welding another $25. BRP label, $450.

PapaHotel
12-10-2016, 08:47 PM
4 x cost of production plus liability protection and your $100 goes right to $500 for the final MSRP. So they are right on target. However, there are some aftermarket ones under $280

asp125
12-10-2016, 09:10 PM
Welcome to the "BRP" effect.. much like the "Harley" effect - it's what the market will bear for a label. That, and possibly the fact there is not much competition for a niche market.

acpd22
12-10-2016, 09:28 PM
I would have never paid the $750.00 for the passenger backrest. Its amazing what a dealer will do when you get up out of the chair at the dealership and head for the door. I though Harley was bad. HD = $100.00, BRP = $$$$$$$ Even some of the aftermarket stuff like windshields. I bought the largest windshield made for my Goldwing and it was only $200.00 Don't get me wrong, I love my Spyder just wish people would go a little easier on these accessories. Don't mind people making money, just don't to make it all off of me (and you guys too).

acpd22
12-10-2016, 09:34 PM
Is the width at the rear wheel/frame wider on a F3 Limited than a RT? Reason I ask is Showchrome makes a hitch for the RT but does not list one for the F3 but the rear of both look the same.

BLUEKNIGHT911
12-10-2016, 09:59 PM