Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default First Ride Home on 2016 RT Special Scared the Scrap out of me - Handling Help

Just picked up my Black Beauty today from Bert's in Los Angeles. I test rode the Spyder a few weeks back on main streets (no freeway), getting up to 60 and everything felt great.

Going home today on the freeway the Spyder feels very sensitive over 60 and every lane change felt like it was grabbing and I get a scary type of sway when I am going fast.

We do have grooves in the pavement here, so I wonder if this has anything to do with it. Also, high speed sweeper on ramps, heading in to it about 70 and then hitting the ramp it feels pretty unstable.

Perhaps tire pressure or what do you folks think? If it is a "rookie mistake" let me know. I have been riding conventional motorcycles for 35 years.

Thanks!

IMG_9983.jpg

Spyder Garage

Congratulations on that good looking ride. I just got my 'Special' a month or so ago and yes coming off a traditional two wheeler is STRANGE!

First thing everyone here will tell you is relax and loosen your grip! I rode Goldwings forever and was used to the lean and manual force at low speeds... that's all gone here. Put a few more miles on and relax. Get used to the bike not leaning like a two wheeler. I just passed 1600 miles on mine and now beginning to feel 'normal' in a higher speed curve.

I'm too new to really know... but I do know... don't give in too early. You will love the ride. And is u have a co-rider... they will love the sure footedness of the spyder. Enjoy that new toy and put some miles on it!!!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Spyder Garage

This is a normal response, especially if you are a two wheel rider.

I picked up my wife's ST-S and rode home 190 miles. It was a bit frightening at first. I have almost 500K miles on two wheels, but the advice here helped a lot.