Spyder Garage

Default Spyder V Motorcycle Differences?

I'm sure this has been covered before, but please pardon the n0Ob.

I did read the Do's and Dont's, and found them informative. I have a few hundred thousand miles on two wheel bikes, and currently ride my BMW R1200GS to work daily. I hope to pick up my wife's new to her Spyder ST-S on Sunday, and ride it home for her. The trip is 180 miles of mostly highway and some back roads and towns. The plan is to ride it around the town I am picking it up in, then stop for lunch, then hit the freeway home through Philly, Baltimore and then to DC. This thread has made me a bit nervous about the ride because, though I have lots of two wheel experience, I have zero on three.

For those who made the transition, or who ride both a Spyder and a Motorcycle, was the initial experience that much of a shock, and was it that difficult? I'm going to do it anyhow, but am curious about your experiences.

Thanks,
    Last edited by JimVonBaden; 10-20-2016 at 10:32 AM.
    Jim

2013 ST-S (wife's)
    2015 BMW R1200GS (mine)
    1981 Yamaha XS400 Scrambler Custom (mine)

Spyder Garage

Default Depends....

Some transition easily and quickly some it take 3 to 500 miles to get really comfortable. You should be fine on the ryde home if you relax take it at a slower than normal for you ryde. On the freeways it will be a breeze but as you hit twisties and towns you need to build up your speed into them slowly as you get more comfortable with the handling. These are like driving a formula car on horseback...You will have fun.... congrats to the wife and welcome to you both...
    Gene and Ilana De Laney
    Mt. Helix, California

​2012 RS sm5
    2012 RS sm5 , 998cc V-Twin 106hp DIY brake and park brake Classic Black

Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default SPYDER VS TWO WHEEL MTC

Quote Originally Posted by PapaHotel View Post