Spyder Garage

Default 2013 ST SE5 needs rear tire

After reading several threads here and in other Spyder sites, i purchased a Kumho Ecsta AST 225/50-15 and took it to Ride Now for installation. The mechanice brought me to the shop to show me that the tire was too big and would rub on the tire cover. Two local friends have this tire but their bikes are RTs and looking at one that was next to mine in the shop, they do have more room So i'm back home with a bald tire and need to start all over again.

Suggestions MUCH appreciated as i'm a newbie!
    Reagan in Phoenix, AZ

Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default TIRE WILL FIT

I put that size tire on my GS and RSS ..... but you have to shim the fender just a bit...... I used the gray plastic plumbing pipe that is used under your sink... it's 1/4 inch I.D. and fits nicely on the bolts that attach the fender to the frame ...... 1/4 to 3/8 inch should be fine...... make sure your wires are secure and will not touch the tire ........ Let us know how this works out ...... Mike

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by BLUEKNIGHT911 View Post
    I put that size tire on my GS and RSS ..... but you have to shim the fender just a bit...... I used the gray plastic plumbing pipe that is used under your sink... it's 1/4 inch I.D. and fits nicely on the bolts that attach the fender to the frame ...... 1/4 to 3/8 inch should be fine...... make sure your wires are secure and will not touch the tire ........ Let us know how this works out ...... Mike
    Mike i wish i could use the tire because it looks awesome and has GR8 reviews. Unfortunately, i cannot do the installation myself and i'm sure the shop at Ride Now (dealer) won't want to do any modifications. Thanks for your input, though

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by Goldie View Post