Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default Cruising on two wheels and now three, adjustment period?

How long did it take you to adjust to the Spyder?

Background- I bought this so my husband and I could take trips together, especially longer trips. I started riding before he did, so he's pretty new to motorcycles (2 seasons). He rides a cruiser. He went on the Spyder, did not like it, was crossing over double yellow lines and was having issues maneuvering it. He has a MC permit.

I have a MC license so I rode it the 200 miles from NY to PA. I love it. I've had no learning curve, but I read everything I could on here and the manual. He's not into reading things or listening to advice. I have put 300 miles in two days on the Spyder.

So, I figured I would go on the back and give him some advice on shift points, etc. I assure you he hated this. He was shifting all over the place. I felt like my life was in danger every time a car came.

I don't know if I feel comfortable riding on the back with him, which defeats the purpose of owning the Spyder, but I do love it. He doesn't want to ride it anymore and said "have fun with your bike." I paid cash for this bike and it was a lot, so it's disappointing, but it is what it is.

1) how long did it take you to adjust if you came from a cruiser?
    2) will him running the Spyder (2012 RT-S) at lower rpms like 3k damage it?

Thanks.
    Last edited by Jenfz09; 03-25-2016 at 06:24 AM.

Spyder Garage

It took me about 15 mins to get used to the RT. Biggest thing I missed from a 2 wheeler was the front brake. Maybe you should put him on the back.

Spyder Garage

Default Right

Quote Originally Posted by Sam Mac View Post
    It took me about 15 mins to get used to the RT. Biggest thing I missed from a 2 wheeler was the front brake. Maybe you should put him on the back.
    From the description of her post, I seriously doubt he is going to be down with riding 1 up.
    Greg Kamer