Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default cupping front tires

I am a newbie, 2014 RT, laser aligned at the last Spyderfest at around 5K miles, now at 12K miles I see some cupping on outside of right tire tread and somewhat less cupping on outside of left outside tire tread. Balanced wheel/tires myself they run smooth as glass. Where to from here??? rotate tires, realign with laser or just ignore. Currenntly 1500 miles from home on a two week trip, could stop by Pit Bull on the way home, Any suggestions.
    Thanks,
    Andy
    My wife and I circumnavigated the globe on our trimaran sailboat, gone 8 years
    Cushman Eagle, 1954 Corvette, 1964 Corvette with Duntov cam, 1996 Corvette, Chrysler 300 Hemi,
    2003 1800 Gold Wing with Hannigan sidecar
    2014 Spyder RT
    IBA41956
    DS446

Spyder Garage

Andy, there are many people on this forum who know a lot more about tires than me, but from my experience, cupping is usually caused by the tire bouncing up and down as you go down the road. If you were in a car, I would advise you to check the struts and probably replace them with high performance struts. But I'm fairly new to the Spyder, so I don't know enough about the front end suspension to pinpoint where the problem is.
    Also, I have always heard that cheap tires are more susceptible to cupping than premium tires. Again, I don't know if the fault may lie partially in the tires themselves.
    I do know that scalloped (cupped) tires can be hazardous, so be careful. I hope you can get someone to take a look at this that knows more than I do.

Best regards

Pam

• 2015 RT-S Special Series / Red & Black
    • Baja Ron Sway Bar
    • Utopia Backrest
    • F4 Customs tall and wide vented windshield
    • Stebel Super Loud Air Horn
    • Baker Built Air Wings
    • LaMonster Highway Pegs
    • SpyderPops Exhaust Block Off Plate
    • SpyderPops KOTT Grill
    • SpyderPops Belt Guard
    • Cat Bypass
    • Laser Alignment by Squared Away