Thread: Ham radio??

Registered Users
    Spyder Garage

Default Ham radio??

Has anyone installed a ham radio on a Can Am Spyder GS? I am a licensed amateur radio operator and recently purchased a Yaesu FTM-10R mobile 2 meter/440 MHz radio to install on my Spyder. This unit has a water-proof remote control head and id designed for harsh environments. The biggest challenges are going to fins a place to hide the main unit and a way to mount an antenna, If anyone has mounted a radio and/or antenna, please contact me.

Mike (KA6ALF)

Michael R. Douglas

alfdude@roadrunner.com

"For I know the plans I have for you", declares the Lord, "Plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future" Jeremiah 29:11

Spyder Garage

Default Ham Radio Help!

I use my 5 W Hand Held (HT) with a speaker Mic. I would recommend a "J-Pole" antenna as you won't need a ground plane of metal to properly load the antenna, 1/4 Wave Mag Mounts and such are half of the needed dipole and need a lot of metal beneath them, the "J-pole" does not need the metal ground plane. I do have concerns about the RF from 50/60 watts messing with the on-board electronics that make the Spyder run. KE7GZU 73's.

Spyder Garage

Default WA5VHU Here

Mike,
    Dr Buck installed his here http://www.spyderlovers.com/forums/s...ighlight=yaesu

I had my FTM-10R control head mounted on my Spyder's handlebars once but never installed the rest of the radio. I later installed the radio on my Honda NC700X 2-wheeler. For now I use my VX-8 talkie on the handlebars but I am looking for another FTM-10 - they are getting hard to find.

Attached Images Attached Images
    Current:
    2016 Honda CTX700 DCT ABS (faring model)
    Kip Moto SherpaX Cargo Trailer

Wife Has:
    2014 Can-Am Spyder RT Limited
    2016 Lees-ure Lite Camping Trailer

Previous:
    2013 Can-Am Spyder RS SE5, zoom-zoom!
    2011 Can-Am Spyder RT-S SE5, Foot Burner - Gasoline Boiling Stinker - Gas Tank Vacuum Puller

Spyder Garage