Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default Eliminating "NANNY"

I'm thinking of building a show and go bike.
    Has anyone ever tried to redo the computer
    to eliminate the Nanny. Or replacing it with
    an after market.

thanks
    2022 F3 Limited , Monolith Black / Dark

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

The VSS is so integral, that it'd be a monster chore.
    DrewNJ got his bike to run without a bunch of the sensors in place, but as I recall; it's still pretty far from perfect.
    2010 RT A&C, RT-L, RT-L , Orbital Blue, Cognac, Jet Black

Spyder Garage

I have been an engineer on the development team of several powertrain and antilock brake control modules for the automotive industry. The scope of that task, especially the software, is much greater than you would think. It is beyond the competence level of all but the most elite aftermarket designers. The Spyder market is so small that I doubt that any company with the necessary resources would be willing to undertake that task. The liability risk alone would discourage most developers.

I don't understand why anyone would want to disable such an invaluable feature. Stability control and ABS is why I chose the Spyder. I think it would be a very skilled rider indeed who could safely outperform an identical stock Spyder with these systems disabled.
    Last edited by Art Mann; 10-20-2014 at 09:20 AM.

Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default ALL THINGS CONSIDERED ?

Quote Originally Posted by DriftersWay View Post
    an after market.

thanks
    .....My question is WHY is this necessary.................Mike

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Last edited by DrewNJ; 12-27-2014 at 05:35 PM.

Spyder Garage

Default If so..!!

let us know...photos of the show part would be nice especially before the "go" part... doable but tough..!!
    Gene and Ilana De Laney
    Mt. Helix, California

​2012 RS sm5