Thread: Exhausted

Spyder Garage

Default Exhausted

While getting an alignment and replacing all $$$ tire$, I was told me that the slip gasket on the exhaust was leaking on my 2008GS. (got it last year with 6,000mi... presently 16,000mi) It was mentioned the engine was running lean because of the gasket being "very" bad and that I could damage the engine if I rode for a month without having it replaced. I have an appointment in ten days to replace the gasket. How much damage can be done to the engine if I continue ryding with the bad slip gasket? It's the end of ryding season here in the mitt and I've already lost a week OF GREAT WEATHER thanks to "emergencies" that put other bikes ahead of mine , hate losing much more ryding time.
    I am no mechanic and have never portrayed one, any thoughts?

Invalid Emails
    Spyder Garage

I just replaced mine also . but i used the Goldwing ones like others on the forum ..it was really not that bad to do.just remove the tupper ware and they are right there the large slip joint is a 1/2 drive socket .. well that's what I used .the small ones are 10 mm spray them with pb blaster ..loosen them up pull down remove old gaskets / reverse order .. as far as riding I don't think any harm will be done

Spyder Garage

Are you talking about the gasket where the header mates to the S pipe?

If so...............and if you've got basic hand tools (ratchet/metric sockets) and a jack of some kind (I used a small rolling floor jack) it's a snap to change (whether you use an OEM or Gold Wing gasket). Jack the ol Spyder up, so the the R wheel is off the ground (don't forget to chock your front tires so the Spyder doesn't roll forward!) disconnect the header from the S pipe, snatch the old gasket out and replace with the new one, and reconnect the header to the S pipe. Don't to forget to curse a lot; whether things are going badly or not!

Hope you're back on the road soon!