Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DILEMA

Registered Users
    Spyder Garage

Default DILEMA

I've been riding for over 50 years, everything from Honda's to Harleys. The last three bikes have been BMW's and I am very pleased with them. Nothing is trouble free and the German machines are no exception but my dealer is very accommodating and quick to fix any issue (and I have had very few).
    I have two miles of loose gravel to travel to the closest pavement in the Black Hills and while I have ridden on that stuff for years, age is catching up and I'm not as "good" as I used to be. I have been noticing quite a few Spyders lately and recently tried one out. I love curves and I was surprised at the Spyder's apparent dislike for them. It is great on the straights and quite comfortable (my S.O. loves it) but I'm on the fence regarding handling.
    I've read a ton of stuff on this forum and while I realize most people only post when they have a problem, the problems seem excessive. Is this simply growing pains for Can Am or a lax manufacturer? I don't understand the need for realignment on a new machine or bad wheels/tires and broken windshield mounts. It's going to cost me about the same to trade at either store but is the added stability the Spyder offers worth owning a machine that is not ready for prime time?

Spyder Garage

My last touring bike was a K12 - remember the FI and rear hub issues those had? How about the current recall on the GS?? My K12 was a terrific bike, but like any high end machine, mechanical issues can arise, and it was horrifically expensive to maintain (sound familiar?). Finally, I farkled my K12 as much as I have my Spyders - it just goes with riding a bike.

I now have my third Spyder, and second RT - It is safer, more fun, and my SO will ride with me again. Just remember: IT WILL TAKE 200 TO 300 MILES OF BACKROAD RIDING TO GET USED TO THE SPYDER - do not short change that effort, and you will be glad you made the switch.
    2014 RT SE6 Rider