Spyder Garage

Default Thumb Throttle on 2012 and older RSS

I am a Desert Storm Disabled Veteran with a fused right wrist. I can not bend my wrist in any direction. I really would like a Can Am Spyder and want to know if it is possible to modify the throttle to a thumb throttle like a snowmobile or an ATV? Does anybody know if this can be done or if it has been done? If so, is there a company or an after market business that may specialize in doing this? I talked to a dealer and I know that it can't be done on the newer electronic throttles but I am willing to get a RSS model with the cables on It.

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

I don't see why it couldn't be done. We have been ditching thumb throttles in favor of finger throttles on our seadoos since the early 90's. However, I highly doubt your going to find a "kit". I've thrown a bunch of thumb throttles away over the years as they aren't desirable.
    Look for someone on the jet ski forums parting out a seadoo and pick up parts on the cheap and give it a whirl! Good luck!

Sent from my Venue 8 3830 using Tapatalk

Invalid Emails
    Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by menasha mike View Post
    I am a Desert Storm Disabled Veteran with a fused right wrist. I can not bend my wrist in any direction. I really would like a Can Am Spyder and want to know if it is possible to modify the throttle to a thumb throttle like a snowmobile or an ATV? Does anybody know if this can be done or if it has been done? If so, is there a company or an after market business that may specialize in doing this? I talked to a dealer and I know that it can't be done on the newer electronic throttles but I am willing to get a RSS model with the cables on It.