Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Evap cannister

Spyder Garage

Default Evap cannister

Ok people let's share your wisdom.

My check engine light came on and after a couple of tries my dealer finally figured it out. My evaporation canister weighed too much which I guess meant it needed to replaced. Some of you probably know by now that I am not a mechanic. I don't even pretend to know anything about mechanical things. Anyway, my dealer is in the process of replacing the canister and they call me to tell me it won't be covered under my warranty. Let me preface that by saying that in Florida BRP is not allowed to sell their extended warranty so I was forced to buy an extended warranty from a company called Interstate National Dealer Services.

Oh we all know what service means right? Back in the days of old, a farmer would take his cows down the road to be "serviced" by the bull. Get it? Yeah that's about how I'm feeling right now too.

But I digress. So 445 dollars later I get my bike back. I've called and emailed BRP and it seems that this is covered by their EPA warranty. Problem is that the EPA warranty is only good for five years or 18,000 miles. Really? Who could own one of these Spyders and do less than 4.000 miles a year. My 2011 RT has 39,000 very happy miles on it. So it seems at the moment I'm stuck. Thoughts? Ideas?
    Bill H.

Spyder Garage

Arrow

To late this time but the next time save youself a bunndle of cash and have a canisterectomy done. You're dealer may be unwilling to do it, but anyone with a little mechanical knowledge can help you. You can find all kinds of how to info by doing a search here.

Identify what you have control over and find peace with what you don't.

Spyder Garage

Default Have to agree..!!

when mine gets to that point I will be removing it. There are diy's on the subject...here to help if in doubt ask first you will save in the long run...
    Gene and Ilana De Laney
    Mt. Helix, California

​2012 RS sm5