Spyder Garage

Default More on the SE tranny - creeping and lurching ??

OK, so I'm new to the SE - only a week or so. I do like it but have (at this point) 2 questions. I'm following the 29, 39, 49 mph guidelines religiously - haven't been near an interstate yet so no 59 into 5th. I'm noticing that when I am in 1st at a stop, there is no creeping forward at all and then when I do give it some gas, it seems to hang up a fraction of a second then moves along. (Same in Reverse - seems to hang up a fraction of a second and then backs up.) Is there some anti-creep mechanism that puts a hold on movement until you reach a certain rpm?? When shifting up, I notice a distinct fraction of a second hesitation (like a lurch) and then it continues down the road. Is that normal? Downshifting is like shifting in butter - smooth, quick with a little throttle blip - love it. (Don't know what's going on with the editor mechanism of these messages but I can't tab down to a new paragraph or new line - must continue on and on and on the same line.)
    David Horn, Kerrville, TX
    Fulltime RVer
    2014 Phaeton 40ft motorhome w/TandemTow trailer
    2014 Mazda CX5 (Soul Red)
    Ringo, the travelin' canine (just black and tan)

Very Active Member MidLifeCrisis's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

I have an SM, so can't comment much on the workings of and SE, other than when you are at idle, the bike is working the clutch the same as with the manual. If you think of the SE as an automatic, it won't make much sense, but if you think of it as a servo operated clutch and shifter, it'll make more sense.

on your inability to tab and sometimes edit. Welcome to the latest version of Internet Explorer. I just switched to FireFox and Safari, because I got tired of dealing with the bugs....err I mean features of the latest IE.

Spyder Garage