GOS member (Girls On Spyders) Spyder Smyles's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default Cornering Tips for a Newbie

I am a newbie to the Spyder world and looking for some cornering techniques that will help me adjust from my 1800 Goldwing to my first spyder a, 2013 RT-S SE5 Yellow Spyder which should be arriving within the next 2 weeks. I am so excited to get on it and go but would like a little guidance to help with the transition.

Any pointers, recommendations of websites or reading material would be greatly appreicated.

Thanks

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by Spyder Smyles View Post
    I am a newbie to the Spyder world and looking for some cornering techniques that will help me adjust from my 1800 Goldwing to my first spyder a, 2013 RT-S SE5 Yellow Spyder which should be arriving within the next 2 weeks. I am so excited to get on it and go but would like a little guidance to help with the transition.

Any pointers, recommendations of websites or reading material would be greatly appreicated.

Thanks
    You should get a DVD in the packet with your owners manual. It has quite a bit of good stuff on there. I'll let some of the motorcycle owners chime in, as I had about 30 years between my last MC, and the Spyder, but since there is no leaning to it at all, I found that "planting" my outside foot in a turn is great to compensate for the feeling that you want to fly off. If in a hard enough turn, I sometimes notice my inside foot is no longer on the peg.

Oh.. By the way... Welcome to Spyderlovers!

GOS member (Girls On Spyders) Phyxius's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Welcome to Spyders! You'll love it!

First up check out this thread: http://www.spyderlovers.com/forums/s...-Spyder-owners

As for cornering each person develops there own style, I guess. What I see posted most often and works for me is this:

For sharp twisty turns -