Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default From Vmax to Spyder....Am I getting old?

Well I have been considering the purchasing of a Spyder for a few years now and I think I may be about one week away from doing a deal. I am looking at a 2012 RT-Ltd. My wife and I are thinking of doing an east coast three week touring trip next summer. My ride right now is a very modified 1994 Yamaha Vmax. The Vmax has 30,000 Km. and I have only limped home once due to a dirty gas filter. ( Rust in tank ) The Vmax goes like hell but not very comfortable for a two up ride for three weeks.

I started seriously looking for a " sport touring bike" about two months ago. I was looking at the Yamaha FJR & Kawasaki Concour. I then found out that my wife thought that any bike with two wheels " looks just like the bike you have now " and she figured the either bike would be just as uncomfortable as the Vmax for a long trip. There was no changing her mind about the FJR & Concours neither bike was going to work for Debbie. We all know that a " happy wife is a happy life".

To get a ride with comfort and luggage space my choices then moved to Honda Goldwing, Yamaha Venture, Harley and Spyder. I had owned a full dress Yamaha Royal Venture back a decade or so and Debbie reminded my how much I did not like it. ( Very top heavy ) The Honda and Harley just were not getting me excided about man handling either of them at anything under highway cruising speed. So we had narrowed it down, we would look at the Spyder