Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 18 wheelers

Invalid Emails
    Spyder Garage

Default 18 wheelers

I am new to riding on the Interstate, but the few rides we have taken, when approaching an 18 wheeler I encounter a heck of lot of buffering. Is this normal, or am I doing something wrong. It tends to scare the out of me and the little woman behind me gets very unhappy. As everybody knows we don't want an unhappy woman.. Thanks..

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by Harley View Post
    I am new to riding on the Interstate, but the few rides we have taken, when approaching an 18 wheeler I encounter a heck of lot of buffering. Is this normal, or am I doing something wrong. It tends to scare the out of me and the little woman behind me gets very unhappy. As everybody knows we don't want an unhappy woman.. Thanks..
    It's normal. Try increasing the spring tension on your front shocks for added stability.

Identify what you have control over and find peace with what you don't.

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

If you're aware that it's going to happen; it'd easier to deal with it! Grip the tank with your knees to help steady yourself on the bike too!
    2010 RT A&C, RT-L, RT-L , Orbital Blue, Cognac, Jet Black

Spyder Garage

It seems to be the "normal" thing. I also note that 18 wheelers that are carrying shipping containers instead of a regular trailer seem to give off even more buffeting.

Currently Owned: 2019 F3 Limited, 2020 F3 Limited: SOLD BOTH LIMITEDS in October of 2023.

Previously : 2008 GS-SM5 (silver), 2009 RS-SE5 (red), 2010 RT-S Premier Editon #474 (black) 2011 RT A&C SE5 (magnesium) 2014 RTS-SE6 (yellow)

MY FINAL TALLY: 7 Spyders, 15 years, 205,500 miles

IT HAS BEEN A LONG, WONDERFUL, AND FUN RIDE.
    2020 F3L , Magma Red

Spyder Garage