Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Unhappy B.E.S.T. warranty does not cover exploding clutch at 13k miles - 2008 RS - Premier Ed

Back in April my Spyder completely went nuclear. Now I am not a mechanic, but I like to think myself a pretty logical person. Best the dealer can tell is the clutch suffered catastrophic failure when the clutch plates broke apart into several pieces. Clutch material reportedly went through the screen and took out the oil pump, engine lost pressure and multiple components exploded. Internals were a mess and I have been struggling with BRP to get it fixed ever since. The dealer said the clutch plates show no signs of abuse or being worn out. There was no evidence of heat damage or blueing either. Ok, so this is pretty foreign to me, but it sounds like not something that was my fault. Dealer admits they believe this to be a faulty or production related issue with the clutch. They had seen this before and also on several automatics. Guessing automatics have less clutch issues.

Its been over 4 months now, prime riding season and I am still fighting with BRP. After getting the run around by BRP customer service and a little bit of yelling some progress was made. Initially they wee inclined to not cover any of it, as they said it was caused by the clutch. Clutch is a wear item and is not covered under B.E.S.T. warranty. Too bad, so sad Mr. Customer. The end price tag was somewhere in the range of $8-9k out of my pocket for a new engine and clutch. I promptly lost my mind and continued to raise hell with the dealer and it soon became clear BRP was the culprit. A gentleman was apparently slow walking this and appeared he was just trying to deny the warranty claim and was putting the dealer in a bad spot. Dealer has since worked it through another warranty claims person and things are moving forward.

I still have several issues -

- CLutch explodes at 13k miles? What is that all about?