Spyder Garage

Default Primary sprocket

I am brand new to the spyder world but have a lot of motorcycle experience as well as shifter karts (go kart with a 125cc 2 stroke motorcycle engine). On the racing karts we were constantly changing our sprockets according to the track. My questions are;
    1. What is the tooth count on the primary sprocket on the spyder RT Limited.
    2. Does anyone make different sprockets for the primary?
    3. Where is the speedometer pickup on the spyder? If it is in the tranny then you would have to re-calibrate it if you changed the sprocket. If its on the wheel then there would be no change required.

I have a friend that works at a machine shop that makes all kinds of gears and if there is none available I am thinking about having him make me 2 sprockets. One with one additional tooth and one with 2 additional teeth. I don't like turning this motor over 6 grand to run with traffic. I think that one tooth would help the rpm's and the fuel mileage. Any info is appreciated.

Greg Cain
    Birmingham, AL
    "Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming -- WOW -- What a Ride!"

Invalid Emails
    Spyder Garage

28 teeth for the sprocket and the wheel sensors are used for the speedo.

Spyder Garage

Default Primary sprocket

I am going to order a new sprocket and take it to my buddy. I want him to have brand new one with no wear to get all of the measurments on the teeth. I paln to have him heat treat it and then send it out for cyrogenic strees relieving. I think I will start with a 29 tooth. Has anyone done this before? If so how many teeth did they do?

Thanks